SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment


The 2020 SEJ Awards Program

is now CLOSED.





See the winners of the 2020 contest!

See the winner of the 2020 Nina Mason Pulliam Award!


DEADLINE TO ENTER: Due to the COVID-19 virus, SEJ extended the regular April 1 deadline to April 24, 2020. Late entry was allowed, with extra fee, until April 30, 2020, 11:59 p.m. ET.

Good luck to all who entered!

2020 RULES
2020 FAQs

SEJ's 19th annual Awards for Reporting on the Environment continue to honor the best environmental journalism in 10 categories, bringing recognition to the most important stories on the planet. Prizes of $500 for first-place winners and $250 for second-place winners in all categories. Plus...

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award for the "best of the best" environmental reporting will award $10,000 to one entry selected from the first-place winners of SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The prize also includes travel, registration and hotel expenses (up to $2,500) for the winner, or representatives of the winning team, to attend SEJ's annual conference and be recognized at the awards presentation ceremony in September 2020, during SEJ's 30th Annual Conference in Boise, Idaho.

All SEJ Awards first-place winners will be automatically entered into the Nina Mason Pulliam Award. (Read more about the Pulliam Award.)

Winners will be announced in August, or as soon as possible after judges have completed their deliberations.

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award is sponsored by the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust.

☀️ SEJ is pleased to again offer an Outstanding Student Reporting category for undergraduate, graduate and high-school students. 

Prizes include first place: $500, trophy and certificate; second place: $250 and certificate; third place and honorable mentions: certificate.



SEJ's 2020 Awards Committee

Emilia Askari, Independent Journalist
Jeff Burnside, Independent Journalist
Katy Daigle, Science News
Parimal Rohit, The Log newspaper
Rae Tyson, Freelance Journalist

Chris Bruggers, Awards Director


See past Award winners:

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002