Winners of the Nina Mason Pulliam Award for Outstanding Environmental Reporting

Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust logoThe Nina Mason Pulliam Award for the "best of the best" environmental reporting will award $10,000 to one entry selected from the first-place winners of SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The prize also includes travel, registration and hotel expenses (up to $2,500) for the winner, or representatives of the winning team, to attend SEJ's annual conference.

All SEJ Awards first-place winners are automatically entered into the Nina Mason Pulliam Award. (Read more about the Pulliam Award.)

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award is sponsored by the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust.

Winner: "The Amazon, Undone" (Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding Investigative Reporting, Large) by Terrence McCoy, Júlia Ledur and Cecília do Lago, with photos by Raphael Alves and Rafael Vilela, for The Washington Post

Honorable Mention to a team of students at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication for "Gaslit"

Winner: "The Department of Yes: How Pesticide Companies Corrupted the EPA and Poisoned America" (Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding Investigative Reporting, Small) and "EPA Exposed" (Outstanding Beat Reporting, Small) by Sharon Lerner for The Intercept

Honorable Mention to a team of reporters and editors from ProPublica, Texas Tribune and Mountain State Spotlight for "Sacrifice Zones: Mapping Cancer-Causing Industrial Air Pollution"

Winner: "Where Will Everyone Go? How Climate Refugees Might Move Across International Borders," by Abrahm Lustgarten, Al Shaw, Meridith Kohut, Lucas Waldron and Sergey Ponomarev for ProPublica and The New York Times Magazine

Honorable Mention to Midwest Center for Investigative Reporting reporter Johnathan Hettinger and editors for "Dicamba on Trial"

Winner: "Polluter’s Paradise," by Tristan Baurick, Joan Meiners, Gordon Russell and Sara Sneath of The Times-Picayune and The Advocate; and Lylla Younes, Al Shaw and Claire Perlman of ProPublica

Honorable Mention to The Seattle Times' reporters Hal Bernton and Daniel Beekman for Seattle Beat Reporting

Winner: Reuters' "Ocean Shock" series, by Maurice Tamman, Matthew Green, Mari Saito, Sarah Slobin and Maryanne Murray

Honorable Mention to "Toxic City: Sick Schools," by Barbara Laker, Wendy Ruderman and Dylan Purcell for The Philadelphia Inquirer and the Philadelphia Daily News

Winner: "Bombs in Our Backyard" by Abrahm Lustgarten, Lena Groeger, Ryann Grochowski Jones, Sisi Wei, Ashley Gilbertson, Ranjani Chakraborty and Lucas Waldron for ProPublica

Honorable Mention for the stunning "Marshall Islands Project," published by Mashable and written by the late Kim Wall, with remarkable photographs and videography by Coleen Jose and Jan Hendrik Hinzel, respectively

Topics on the Beat: