SEJ's Environmental Events Calendar: Featured Event

SEJ's Calendar lists professional meetings, webinars, press conferences, awards/fellowships/workshops deadlines and more. If you would like your event added to the listing, send your information for consideration to SEJ web content manager Cindy MacDonald: cmac@sej.org


 

IJ4EU Confidential: Unveiling the Secrets of Complex Investigations

The IJ4EU (Investigative Journalism for Europe) fund is launching a series of free online discussions taking audiences behind the scenes of ambitious cross-border investigations in the public interest.

Scheduled for the third Friday of every month, starting in June 2024, “IJ4EU Confidential” will delve into the backstories of collaborative journalistic projects that have set the agenda in Europe and beyond.

The live sessions will feature first-hand accounts from the reporters who drove complex investigations supported by the Investigative Journalism for Europe programme. 

Speakers will offer tips and tricks while sharing stories of success and failure. Audience members will be encouraged to ask questions. The sessions will also be released as video podcasts.

Details and registration.

Here are the first five scheduled sessions:

June 21, 2024 | 15:00 CEST (9:00 a.m. ET)
IJ4EU Confidential: When journalists become gold diggers
The making of The Gold Chain

July 19, 2024 | 14:00 CEST (8:00 a.m. ET)
IJ4EU Confidential: Investigating Russia’s drone war in Ukraine 
The making of Russia’s War, Europe’s Burden

August 16, 2024 | 14:00 CEST (8:00 a.m. ET)
IJ4EU Confidential: Can journalists stop a ticking climate bomb?
The making of Defusing a Russian ‘Carbon Bomb’

September 20, 2024 | 14:00 CEST (8:00 a.m. ET)
IJ4EU Confidential: Exposing the extent of Europe’s bear crisis
The making of Bears Uncovered

October 18, 2024 | 14:00 CEST (8:00 a.m. ET)
IJ4EU Confidential: How EU migration policy fails the dead and the living
The making of The Border Graves Investigation

 

Topics on the Beat: